The Winners of the 2023 NYJTL Mayor Dinkins Cup Are In!

The Mayor Dinkins Cup is the largest free junior interscholastic tennis competition in the nation, with players from all over New York City representing public, parochial, and private schools. This year we had 750 entries from public, private, and parochial schools in elementary, middle, and high school divisions and more than 500 kids in individual competitions representing all five boroughs and a total of 283 schools.

Formerly the Mayor’s Cup, NYJTL renamed the tournament the Mayor Dinkins Cup to honor NYC’s first Black Mayor and NYJTL Board Member, who served 35 years, David N. Dinkins. Below are the winners of the fierce competition:


? Mayor Dinkins Cup Final Awards Winners ?

Boys Varsity Team
Winner: Hunter College High School
Finalist: Beacon High School

Boys Varsity Singles
Winner: Erik Johansson
Finalist: David Clarke

Girls Varsity Singles
Winner: Chantajah Mills
Finalist: Debra Gil

Boys Varsity Doubles
Winners: Shawn Mitchell Yon/ Erik Johansson
Finalists: Stanley Hoo/ Vinay Palta

Girls Varsity Doubles
Winners: Chantajah Mills/ Jade Saintard
Finalists: Angelica Leon/ Patrycja Filonik

Boys Middle School Singles
Winner: Abel Jackson
Finalist: Tristan Stratton

Girls Middle School Singles
Winner: Isabella Doni
Finalist: Leila Patel

Boys Middle School
Doubles Winners: Abel Jackson/ Rowan Qalbani
Finalists: Antanas Daugis/ Tristan Stratton

Girls Middle School Doubles
Winners: Julia Ivanov/ Emma Palacio
Finalists: Isabella Miraflores/ Mana Brod

Boys Elementary School Singles- Yellow
Winner: Alexander Ferreira
Finalist: Buvan Muthusamy Girls

Elementary School Singles- Yellow
Winner: Anna Kapanadze
Finalist: Daniella Yoguyman

Boys Elementary School Singles- Green
Winner: Kareem Lubowski
Finalist: William Swiatocha

Girls Elementary School Singles- Green
Winner: Laura Jedlinska
Finalist: Astrid Narantika