NYJTL Mayor Dinkins Cup

NYJTL Mayor Dinkins Cup Update – NYC Weather

We are monitoring the situation, and receiving notifications from local authorities and based on what is in the best interest of our participants, we will determine the direction on how the tournament will proceed. We will continue to keep you updated on this fluid situation and will provide another update tomorrow, June 9, by 10:00 am.

Thank you for your patience.


The Mayor Dinkins Cup is the largest free junior interscholastic tennis competition in the nation, with players from all over New York City representing public, parochial, and private schools. In 2022, we had more than 600 participants from schools in elementary, middle, and high school divisions representing all five boroughs and a total of 283 schools.

Formerly the Mayor’s Cup, NYJTL renamed the tournament the Mayor Dinkins Cup to honor NYC’s first Black Mayor and NYJTL Board Member, who served 35 years, David N. Dinkins. This year’s Mayor Dinkins Cup will be held at The Cary Leeds Center for Tennis & Learning.

The Mayor Dinkins Cup is June 10 to June 18, 2023!

To learn more about player benefits, tournaments rules, and guidelines email mayordinkinscup@nyjtl.org

Registration for the 2023 NYJTL Mayor Dinkins Cup is officially closed. We will send out notifications when the draws and schedule are posted. We hope to have this done by first of this coming week.

Please ensure you have the correct email and mobile phone number listed in your USTA membership. Notifications through Serve Tennis is the best way for us to communicate to players and parents throughout the tournament. 

The timeframe for matches during the tournament are as follows:

  • Saturday, June 10: 8:00 am-8:00 pm
  • Sunday, June 11: 8:00 am-8:00 pm
  • Monday, June 12–Friday, June 16: 4:30 pm-8:00 pm
  • Saturday, June 17: 8:00 am-8:00 pm
  • Sunday, June 18: 8:00 am-2:0 0pm (Awards Ceremony will be at 2:00 pm)

*All dates/times are subject to change if we have weather.

** With more than 700 players in the tournament, we are unable to accommodate scheduling requests. 

Format of the Tournament:

  • Single Elimination
  • Singles Competition: 2 out of 3 sets with 3rd set 10-point tiebreaker; no ad scoring.
  • Doubles Competition: 8-game Pro Set, at 8-8 there will be a 7-point tiebreaker; no ad scoring.

***Players may play more than one match per day.